College of Social Sciences

Degree: Bachelor of Arts in Social Sciences
English-based Degree Program: N/A
Location: Kinugasa Campus

Faculty Description

While sociology is at the heart of College of Social Sciences, the curriculum allows students to pursue their academic interests in a wide variety of related fields. On entering the college, students enroll in one of five majors: Sociology and Social Studies, Media and Society, Sports and Society, Children and Society, or Human Welfare. Although students take most of their courses from within their own major, they can also register for courses in other majors. Students wishing to specialize in two different academic fields have the option of enrolling as double majors.

In their 1st Year, students take courses in academic literacy and sociology, as well as introductory courses within their own major. In their 3rd Year, students join one of the seminar classes (zemi) taught by members of faculty. Since faculty members’ research interests are so varied, including sociology, economics, business administration, history, philosophy, literature, area studies, urban planning, psychology, and natural sciences, students are able to select a seminar class that matches their own chosen area of specialization.

Sample Courses

  • Introduction to Sociology
  • Modernity and Society
  • Modernity and Media
  • Modernity and Sport
  • Society and Children
  • Modernity and Welfare

page top